About Us

About Us

Our History

Established in 1984, The Harvard Club of Malaysia has a membership of more than 300, consisting of Harvard alumni based in Malaysia.

The Club was founded to foster a spirit of community and fraternity among its members, while also advancing the mission and welfare of Harvard University and its alumni in Malaysia.

The Club organizes several annual activities such as its flagship Harvard Prize Book program; a series of lectures and discussions with visiting professors and academics from Harvard; and regular, informal discourse on current affairs with ministers, business personalities, and other guests.

The Harvard Prize Book

Since 1910, The Harvard Prize Book has been awarded by the alumni of Harvard University to top-performing students in selected schools around the world.

In Malaysia, the Harvard Prize Book program has been launched in partnership with selected schools and recognizes top-performing Malaysian students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship and character, combined with achievements in other fields.

Harvard Prize Books are presented annually in nearly 2,000 schools internationally. Should your school be interested to establish a partnership with the Club on the Harvard Prize Book program, please contact us for more information.

Our Executive Committee


Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Lin See-Yan
(MPA ’70, AM ’72, PhD ’77)
Click here to view profile

Deputy President

Dr Leong Choon Heng
(PhD ’91)

Vice President

Wan Nadiah Wan Mohammad
(AB ’07)

Affendi Rashdi
(MPA ’13)

Honorary Secretary

Unny Sankar Ravi Sankar
(MPA ’14)

Honorary Treasurer

Bulvir Singh
(MPA ’96, LITP ’96, HLS ’97)

Committee Members 

Mr Khoo Eu Wen
(MBA ’11)

Mr Ziad Hafiz Razak
(MC-MPA ’15)

Mr Shazmeer Mokhtar
(MPA ’12)

Ms Jasmin Johnson
(MPP ’10)

Mr. Joseph Lim Meng Hon
(ALM ‘16)

Nominated Exco Appointments

Dato’ Azman Shah
(HIID ’96)

David Hashim
(M. Arch ’86)

Low Teng Lum
(MPA ’96)

Keeran Sivarajah
(EdM ’14)

Dominique Fernandes
(Ll.M ’17)

Samuel Kim
(MPA ’14)

Mildred Voon
(MPA ’17)


Honorary Auditor

Krishnavenee Krishnan
(MPA ‘13)

Senior Advisors

Ng Hon Soon
(MPA ’91; ITP ’91)

Datuk Khairil Anuar Abdullah
(MBA ’81)


Our Past Presidents

Tun Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid

Tun Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid was the Chief Secretary to the Government from 1990 to 1996. Previously, he was the Chairman of Permodalan Nasional Berhad (PNB), Syarikat Perumahan Pegawai Kerajaan Sdn Bhd., Kontena Nasional Berhad and Petaling Garden Sdn Bhd.

Tun Ahmad Sarji has also served on the boards of numerous other public-listed entities, including NCB Holdings, I&P Group Sime Darby Group, MNI Holdings, NCB Holdings and Pelaburan Hartanah Nassional Berhad. He holds degrees from Harvard University and Universiti Malaya.

Datuk Dr. Goh Cheng Teik

Datuk Dr. Goh Cheng Teik was born and educated in Penang, Malaysia. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from Harvard University and a PhD from Leiden University, Holland. He was appointed Lecturer in History and International Relations in the University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur in 1967, and served in that capacity until 1974 when he entered politics.

From 1974-1999, Datuk Dr. Goh served as Member of Parliament, Parliamentary Secretary, State Executive Councillor and Deputy Minister. He is a Past President of the Harvard Club of Malaysia, Past President of the Oxford and Cambridge Society of Malaysia, President, Netherlands Alumni Association of Malaysia and Board Member of the East Asia Institute of Cambridge University. He is also a Life Member of the Malaysian Association for American Studies (MAAS).

Datuk Dr. Goh was also formerly the Deputy Minister of Land and Cooperative Development and former Deputy Chief Minister of Penang. He first joined Gerakan in 1972 while he was a lecturer at University of Malaya. In 1974, he was elected as the Member of Parliament for Nibong Tebal and was appointed as one of then prime minister Tun Abdul Razak’s parliamentary secretaries till 1976. He has served as deputy minister with four ministries. He resigned from Gerakan and retired from politics in 1999.